What to Read Next – Writers Edition

04/11/2012

I’ve had several books make a huge impact on the way I write.  The way I structure my time when sitting down to crank out content.  I’ve already offered my list for youth ministry, small groups, and leadership.  Here are a few of my favorite books for writers and bloggers.

On Writing – Stephen King

Part memoir, part writing helps.  This book has been one of the top books for me to get off my butt and write.  It pushed me to not just wish I was a writer, but intentionally pursue it.

Elements of Style – Strunk and White

Hands down the most read, recommended book on writing.  If you haven’t read this little gem, drop everything and read it now.  Should be on the shelf of every writer, blogger, and anyone else who crafts words on a regular basis.

Story – Robert McKee

The book on screenwriting.  No one has a grip on what makes an incredible story quite like Robert McKee.  Even if you aren’t writing screenplays, you’ll get a ton out of this book.  Will inspire you to want to keep writing.

31 Days to Finding Your Blogging Mojo – Bryan Allain

Blogging has taken the internet by storm the last few years, and this book is one of my favorite to recommend to new bloggers.  Bryan writes in a light-hearted, and straightforward way with plenty of tips and advice on blogging, and getting the most out of it.

Bonus – Blog – GoinsWriter.com

Alright, this isn’t really a book, but I couldn’t write a post about writing without including my favorite blog on the craft.  GoinsWriter.com is full of posts for inspiration, encouragement, practical advice, and great resources.  I know I read it on a regular basis, and have read through the various ebooks that have been offered on the site.  Worth bookmarking for any writer or blogger.

What did I miss?  What books or ebooks or blogs have I missed that you think every writer should read?

Some of the above links are affiliate links.

4 responses to What to Read Next – Writers Edition

  1. Made to Stick by Chip & Dan Heath

  2. I’ve read King’s and Allain’s. I also make a habit of reading Goins. I liked Ann Lamott’s book on writing. Bird by Bird, I think.

  3. Was glad to see On Writing first on your list. And LarryTheDeuce beat me to Bird by Bird.

    So I’d add Jon Acuff’s Quitter…while it’s not exclusively about writing, it’s a balanced approach to building any dream in a sustainable way.

  4. These are some great books. The Elements of Style is a must read for any writer.